July 17, 2008 meeting,

The Town of Franklin Board of Aldermen had a special meeting on Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 6:00 P.M. at the Boiler Room in Franklin. The purpose of the meeting was to have a joint meeting with Macon County and the Town of Highlands.

The following Town of Franklin Board members were present: Mayor Joe Collins, Aldermen Jerry Evans, Joyce Handley, Carolyn Pattillo and Bob Scott. Members absent were Verlin Curtis and Billy Mashburn.

The following Macon County Board members were present: Ronnie Beale, Jim Davis, Brian McClellan and Bob Simpson. Member absent was Charles Leatherman.

The following Town of Highlands Board members were present: Mayor Don Mullen, Commissioner Dennis DeWolf, John Dotson and Amy E. Patterson. Members absent were Larry Rogers and Hank Ross.

Also present were the following persons:

Staff:

Mike Decker – Assistant Town Manager – Town of Franklin Jack Horton – Manager – Macon County John Henning, Jr. – Attorney – Town of Franklin Leslie Moxley – Attorney – Macon County

Reporters:

D. Linsey Wisdom – *Macon County News* Colin McCandless – *The Franklin Press* Sally Hansen – *The Highlander*

Discussion

The Boards discussed the following items: the North Macon School, the room tax, firing range and animal control.

The Board took no action. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:40 P.M.

July 17, 2008 meeting continued,

Joe Collins, Mayor

Janet A. Anderson, Town Clerk